Reviews

The Right Move by Liz Tomforde

The Right Move
Series: Windy City
Author: Liz Tomforde
Check it Out: Goodreads

RYAN
She’s a distraction, that’s what she is.
I’m the newest Captain of the Devils, Chicago’s NBA team, and the last thing I needed this year was for Indy Ivers, my sister’s best friend, to move into my apartment. She’s messy, emotional, and way too tempting.

But when the team’s General Manager vocalizes his blatant disapproval of my promotion to Captain, referring to me as an unapproachable lone wolf with no work-life balance, I can’t think of a better way to convince him otherwise than pretending to date my outgoing roommate.

The only problem? Faking it feels far too natural.

Having a fake girlfriend wasn’t supposed to be messy but having Indy under my roof and in my bed is complicated, especially when she wants all the romantic parts of life that I could never give her.

INDY
I never imagined I’d be living with my best friend’s brother, NBA superstar Ryan Shay. Even more unbelievable? He needs me to act as his loving girlfriend who’s suddenly changed him into a friendly and approachable guy.

Because, well…he’s not. He’s controlling of his space and untrusting of others.

Our arrangement isn’t one-sided, though. I’m in a wedding coming up, one where every one of my childhood friends, including my ex-boyfriend, will be in attendance, and there’s no better date than my ex’s celebrity hero.

Blurred lines make it almost impossible to separate real from fake. Falling for my roommate was never part of the deal, especially when Ryan is quick to remind me that he doesn’t believe in love.

I’m a romantic and can’t help fantasizing that he’ll change, but soon enough, I find myself questioning if sharing a roof with my best friend’s brother was the right move after all.

My Feelings serif (1)

I kept saying that I wouldn’t pick this up because of all the hype. But I caved after seeing it on the Goodreads awards. I can understand some of the hype and I enjoyed most of my time reading this book. However, I do have some issues with it. I’m sitting at a 3.5 but I’m rounding down to 3 stars.

I can’t even lie; I was flying through this book and having a good time. Opposites attract and fake relationships? I eat that shit up and this was delivering. Not only did I enjoy the interactions between Indy and Ryan, but Ryan’s actions behind the scenes were also adorable.

If there was a picture next to the saying “If he wanted to, he would” it would be Ryan. This man’s love language was acts of service. The little things he did for Indy were so damn sweet. These two fit in a relationship together and had chemistry in waves. The build-up to them getting together was delicious.

Let me talk about what I didn’t gel with. There was no reason for this book to be damn near 500 pages. BFFR!! After they officially got together and Indy went to the wedding, we didn’t need anything else. All the extra was unneeded drama and issues. I would have probably given this 4 stars had it ended after the wedding. Since it didn’t we were kind of stuck reading about how Indy basically thought everything was about her and dragging the issues out. I started to side-eye Indy a few times. Was babies all she cared about?! 

Also, if I hadn’t looked at the other covers for this book I would have assumed that Ryan was white. I read other reviews about this author not writing POC characters correctly and now I can understand. Speaking of Ryan, I didn’t understand why people kept wanting him to change. He was focused on his job and wasn’t worried about socializing. Nothing wrong with that.

Overall, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. However, if all of the author’s books are this lengthy and she doesn’t write POC characters better then I might not pick up anything else.3 Star Rating

5 thoughts on “The Right Move by Liz Tomforde

  1. I agree with this book being too long and what you said. I still really enjoyed and was surprised that at times it didn’t feel as long as it was. I thought the second book was better than this one. Great review!

    Like

Leave a comment